The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 28, 2006, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
If the pitcher feinting to third is considered to be disengaged, why wouldn't he, by the same token, be considered disengaged if he steps from the rubber toward first, and feints a throw. In this case, he's on the rubber, and it's a balk. So, I think your interpreter is wrong. You can't have it both ways.

If this were the case, all the pro interpretations would not require the pitcher to actually "break contact" before completing the throw to first. Breaking contact does not mean "disengaging," which is only accomplished by stepping backward off the rubber with the pivot foot.
I think you misunderstand.

WHILE making the throw to 3rd, obviously, the pitcher is engaged with the rubber. If the ball should be thrown out-of-play, it would be a one base award.

It is AFTER the pitcher has made the move toward 3rd that he is then considered disengaged.

My point has been that the consideration of whether the pitcher is engaged or disengaged is only pertinent when the pitcher chooses to do something from one of the two legal pitching positions, 1) wind-up or 2) set.

Once he has left one of those positions, for whatever reason, he is no longer a pitcher.

The pitcher fakes toward 3rd as a pitcher. That maneuver is complete. Now he is an infielder..

Of course this was my original personal view. Apparently FED does not see it that way. According to FED, the pitching regulations (regarding engaged or disengaged) still apply even after the pitcher has made a previous pickoff attempt. On the second attempt (i.e. play), he is still considered a pitcher.

FED is making a ruling on the location of the pitcher's pivot foot even though the pitcher never steps BACK off the rubber which is what is actually required for a legal disengagement ... not your foot simply breaking contact with the rubber.

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Most Unusual Move You Ever Saw JCrow Basketball 12 Tue Jan 03, 2006 08:31am
Move Up? Hartsy Basketball 30 Fri Jul 29, 2005 08:54pm
I said move! ChrisSportsFan Basketball 11 Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:55am
Move up? refjef40 Softball 7 Tue Apr 01, 2003 05:38pm
Inappropiate Move by Ref? lee7545 Basketball 5 Sun Feb 03, 2002 07:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1