The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Mar 05, 2006, 02:57am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Bob Proctor
I cannot believe an official with Phil Gawthrop's credential's would make a statement as he did in his article in the current "Official's Quarterly". After a long discussion about a situation that isn't covered in the book, his final statement is, "..., and look for any close pitch to call a strike." Under the worst of circumstances, shouldn't we all be looking for balls that are in the zone to call strikes? As he isn't sure that his suggested method for handling the situation is the best way, wouldn't he then be making two mistakes instead of one, or at least making that infamous "make-up" call? I've been officiating football for 25 years and if that were done in a football game we'd be shot ... twice!
Old Sun Mar 05, 2006, 04:56am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Umpires are conditioned to think strikes. I was taught that every pitch that leaves F1's hand is a strike until proven otherwise. This makes calling those borderline pitches strikes a heck of a lot easier.

Tim.
Old Sun Mar 05, 2006, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member

Not the point