![]() |
|
|
|||
Re: Depends Part 2
Quote:
Mike, Actually 7.08(f) does not mention the word NEAR, it just says "...Passes a fielder...". That is where the problem is. It should say "After that fielder has had a reasonable chance to field the ball" JEA interprets Reasonable chance as three feet,i.e., arms length, Carl Childress interprets it as 5 feet,i.e., a step and arms length, J/R doesn't mention it although in his list of troubled rules he lists 7.08(f) twice, once as Disorganized and again as Inaccurate. There are only two times a runner can get hit by a fair batted ball and not be out. 1. If the ball is deflected by a fielder, including the pitcher, before hitting the runner. and 2. If it has passed a fiedler after he has a reasonable chance to make the play (3 to 5 ft.) and then only if there is no another fielder directly behind the first fielder and the second fielder could have made the play. On the URC thread you cited, I posted an extreme situation to drive home the point. I'll include it here. Ted Williams at bat, Bobby Doerr is at second. Defense puts on the shift. They take all fielders, with the exception of the left fielder, from the left side of the field and put them on the right side. Williams inside outs the pitch to the left side, it hits Doerr. What do you have? Doerr is dead out as he limps off the field. So the Mgr comes out and says, Hey blue, There was no fielder there, how could he interfer. Answer, Doerr interfered with the normal course of play and didn't give the defense a reasonable chance to make a play on it before it hit him, that's interference. Can't do that. I've got that ball protected all the way to the outfield wall. The rule says that a runner is out when he gets hit by a fair batted ball. It goes on to list the exceptions I cited above. If it wasn't one of those exceptions the runner is out. A lot of umpires confuse this sitch with the, interfering with a fielder while making a play sitch. Whole different ball game. And the way the rule is written in the OBR doesn't help at all either. G. [Edited by Gee on May 25th, 2001 at 12:14 PM] |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|