![]() |
|
|||
no verbalization necessary
Quote:
BR is trying to return to the base quickly, since he knows he missed the base. F3 knows BR missed the base, or another fielder says "tag him, tag him." F3 tags the runner. He then holds the glove up to show BU that he has control of the ball, and has appealed. Now, does he really need to say "I am appealing that he missed the base"? I think not. I have never required this sort of confirmation. If F3 tags BR or the base, then looks at BU as if to say "well, are you paying attention too?", that to me constitutes a proper appeal, and no verbalization is necessary. If on the other hand, F3 unintentionally touches the base with his foot as he is passing it, then I don't have an appeal. Rule 7.10(b) applies here, with the Case Book interpretation as follows: "An appeal should be clearly intended as an appeal, either by a verbal request by the player or an act that unmistakably indicates an appeal to the umpire. A player, inadvertently stepping on the base with a ball in his hand, would not constitute an appeal." (emphasis mine)
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
Bookmarks |
|
|