The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 26, 2001, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Re: Re: Same runner

Quote:
Originally posted by Gre144
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
If coaches are going to use courtesy runners, the same runner must run for a particular position. So #6 can only run for the catcher and #5 can only run for the pitcher no matter what inning it is. But if for some reason the coach wants to bring in those runners as pinch runners, they can do that, but that means someone has to replace them as a courtesy runner at the same position.

And I also believe but need to look it up, they cannot be a pinch runner and a courtesy runner in the same inning. But I will have to check that to be sure. Going off of complete memory on that.
So Bob, is Jrutledge wrong? The above is a quote from him.

FED Rules, Please.

Greg.
THe phrase "the same runner must run for a particular position" is not entirely correct. #6 can run for F2 in the first, then #7 can run for F2 in the third, then #6 can run for F2 again in the fifth (assuming the players are otherwise eligible to be CRs).

But, Jeff explained what he meant in the next part of the paragraph -- and he;s right there.

What part (if not what I explained) do you think is wrong? The rest seems consistent with what I wrote.

BTW, if you are a member of this site, I wrote a piece on the CR -- it may answer some more of your questions.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1