Quote:
Originally posted by Gre144
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
If coaches are going to use courtesy runners, the same runner must run for a particular position. So #6 can only run for the catcher and #5 can only run for the pitcher no matter what inning it is. But if for some reason the coach wants to bring in those runners as pinch runners, they can do that, but that means someone has to replace them as a courtesy runner at the same position.
And I also believe but need to look it up, they cannot be a pinch runner and a courtesy runner in the same inning. But I will have to check that to be sure. Going off of complete memory on that.
|
So Bob, is Jrutledge wrong? The above is a quote from him.
FED Rules, Please.
Greg.
|
THe phrase "the same runner must run for a particular position" is not entirely correct. #6 can run for F2 in the first, then #7 can run for F2 in the third, then #6 can run for F2 again in the fifth (assuming the players are otherwise eligible to be CRs).
But, Jeff explained what he meant in the next part of the paragraph -- and he;s right there.
What part (if not what I explained) do you think is wrong? The rest seems consistent with what I wrote.
BTW, if you are a member of this site, I wrote a piece on the CR -- it may answer some more of your questions.