The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2005, 06:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Originally posted by bossman72

I know the fielder is protected from fielding a batted ball, but once the ball is fielded and before he throws it, does he have the same type of protection? Was my call right?

The fielder is protected the MOMENT we as umpires judge that F4 is in the act of fielding the ball and ENDS when:

1. The Fielder throws the ball (follow through) OR

2. The Fielder boots/misplays the ball and the ball is not in his immediate reach.

Therefore, in your play F4 still had protection as he had not yet released the ball.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1