The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2005, 01:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Quote:
Originally posted by bossman72
Had this happen the other day:

R2. Batter hits a grounder to F6. F6 charges and catches the ball. His momentum then takes him a couple steps towards home where he sets to throw. Just as he cocks his arm back, R2 crashes into him. R2 really didn't have much time to react. I called him out for runner's interference.

I then thought about it and have this question:

I know the fielder is protected from fielding a batted ball, but once the ball is fielded and before he throws it, does he have the same type of protection? Was my call right?

Thanks

bossman
Sounds to me like it was right. F6 was still in the process for making that play. R2 running into him prevented that so interference is the right call. Call R2 out and then call the BR out.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1