The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2005, 01:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Ives
"NO RUNS SCORE because there is going to be an APPEAL!"



No runs score IF, AND ONLY IF there is an appeal.
Exactly because we all know that ball players are not rocket scientists and the fact that they have to appeal properly may be unknown to them..
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2005, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Ives
"NO RUNS SCORE because there is going to be an APPEAL!"



No runs score IF, AND ONLY IF there is an appeal.

Slight problem with this....

Rule 7.08(k) clearly states that on an overrun of home, when the runner immediately attempts to return to the base, the out must be by tag, not appeal.


So, if the lead runner is put out for the 3rd out, the following runner doesn't score.

But what if the lead runner returns to home safely?
How do runs score and is there any out?
I'm not sure, and nothing I've read in this thread really convinces me on their claims.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2005, 07:53pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
"If the lead runner is put out for the 3rd out, the following runner doesn't score."

Correct

"But what if the lead runner returns to home safely?"

He would have to touch home before the following runner does. He can't return if the following runner has touched, even if he is in the process of trying to do so.

"How do runs score and is there any out?"

If the lead runner touches on return before the following runner touches two runs score. If he can't make it back before the following runner touches, then he can't continue to return to touch and the defense would have to appeal his miss to get an out, which would negate all scores.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2005, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Slight problem with this....

Rule 7.08(k) clearly states that on an overrun of home, when the runner immediately attempts to return to the base, the out must be by tag, not appeal.




If a following runner touches, then the lead runner CANNOT return and the out MUST be via appeal. This was the case for the play in question.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1