The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jun 19, 2005, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member

I'm in my first year and I've noticed the books (particularly Fed) suggest that the proper C postion is to be on a line from the plate through the side of the rubber. But I find that puts me to the shortstop's left and gives me a very bad angle on foot-base-glove on steals of third.

I don't have any problem hustling (I've done soccer for nearly twenty years so I running to position is no problem.)
Where do the experienced umpires position themselves in games where the runner at second intends to be a runner at third frequenty, whether on steals or advances on passed balls in those short backstop fields?

Thanks!
Old Sun Jun 19, 2005, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member

Well, when I am in "C", I always try to read the third base coach's signals. After a few innings I usually am able to pick up on them.

So the coach gives R2 the "steal" sign, I quickly call time, and hustle over to the "D" position. This will give you a great look at the plays at third base.
Old Sun Jun 19, 2005, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to drumbum565
i like to be were it said in the fediration have a foot on the line with home plate and be sort of at an angle to the pitcher so that you can see the pick off at second but as far as a steel at third you can ether hear the runner moving or them saying "hes going" i will then run about 5 or 6 feet to my right and i am then in position.
Old Sun Jun 19, 2005, 08:03pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by rickfriedmann
I'm in my first year and I've noticed the books (particularly Fed) suggest that the proper C postion is to be on a line from the plate through the side of the rubber. But I find that puts me to the shortstop's left and gives me a very bad angle on foot-base-glove on steals of third.