The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 08, 2005, 07:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 156
Coach JM-

First off, thanks for your response. Our league plays under OBR with FED safety modifications (which have no bearing on balks). I knew that this was a balk, I was looking for the exact rule in which it violates. I figured 8.05(a) applied but wanted to be sure. I wasn't sure on 8.05(c) being applied for this reason:


c) The pitcher, while touching his plate, fails to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base; Requires the pitcher, while touching his plate, to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base.


Is an official interpetation that the pitcher's first move must be towards the base. In this case, after the pitcher raised his leg, he then turned and directly stepped towards the base before throwing.

Once again, thanks very much JM.

-Josh

Regardless, 8.05(a) is what I was looking at originally and you've verified that for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1