The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 05, 2005, 09:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
R1, ground ball to 2nd baseman. He tags runner, I call him out, then an overthrow to 1st (ball still in play) and BR reaches 2nd. R1 claims he was never tagged, so wanting to get it right b/c in all honesty I didn’t clearly see it, I ask the PU what he saw and he says there was never a tag. So I call the runner back out and put him on 3rd b/c that’s where he would have ended up on the overthrow to 1st. of course the defense isn’t happy, but their main claim was that the runners should be placed on 1st and 2nd, not 2nd and 3rd b/c the instant I called R1 out it changed the play. Meaning, had I called R1 “SAFE – NO TAG”, then the defense might have tried to get him on the force at 2nd. Even though it was a bang bang attempt at a double play turn, and on top of that, that by the time I would have said “SAFE – NO TAG” the throw probably would have already been on it’s way to 1st to retire BR, meaning it probably would NOT have altered the play too much had I got the call right in the first place, I thought the defense had a valid point. I kept the runners on 2nd and 3rd, but I promised them an answer if i see them again. Your opinions:
on top of that, a quick side question, when is it appropriate or necessary to go to your partner for help?

thanks
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1