The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 23, 2005, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

wisemanj,

The fact that it was F3 (rather than F1) does not change the fact that the proper call in your situation is that the BR is out for interference -7.09(l).

It would still be interference even if it had been the F2 who was camped under the ball when the BR collided with him.

The language in 7.09(l) which gives the BR an "exemption" from liability for hindering the F2's attempt to field a batted ball

"...When a catcher and batter runner going to first base have contact when the catcher is fielding the ball, there is generally no violation and nothing should be called. ..."

only applies as the batter is initially leaving the box after becoming a runner. Since in your situation the contact happened more than halfway up the 1B line, the BR is not "protected" from an interference call.

JM

(Edited to correct typo.)

[Edited by CoachJM on May 23rd, 2005 at 11:43 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1