The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 09, 2005, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Wink

Tim,

What would you call this?

R1 only. RHP, who has legally come set, turns and throws to 2B in the mistaken belief that the R1 was attempting to steal 2B. However, the R1 is still at 1B and never even faked that he was going to go to 2B.

Reference:

"8.05
If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when_ ...(d) The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play; ...
"

Personally, I'd call it a "balk to second base". I think "almost" (or "nearly", or something like that) is required for the aphorism to be correct.

JM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1