The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2005, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Well, it's not (b) or (c).

Doesn't matter whether R1 would have been out. It DOES matter if R1 is actually put out on the play: if R1 is put out, then disregard interference.

Since R1 was not out on the play in your case, the call would depend on whether you judge that the batter hindered the catcher's attempt to play on the runner. J/R has a list of criteria here, but I don't have them with me. Maybe someone else could post them.

If you judge that it's interference by the batter, then the answer is:

(d) batter is out, runner returns to 1B.

If not interference, then (a). Given your description of the case, I'd call interference: answer (d).

The relevant rule is 6.06(c):
Quote:
A batter is out for illegal action when ... (c) He interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home base.
[Edited by mbyron on Apr 21st, 2005 at 11:37 PM]
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1