The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2005, 07:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally posted by carldog
"If the ball was not fielded cleanly and the ball bounced off of the fielder or was bobbled and the fielder entered the runners base path before gaining possession, there may be grounds for obstruction."

Can I ask a question about this whole idea of Obstruction on a fielder who is trying to gather a batted ball he has just booted ?

Couldn't this just be a trainwreck ? Fielder has a right to chase down his booted grounder...and runner has a right to run to the base...So unless the action is intentional, isn't this a no call?

Thanks!

If the ball is still within "a step and a reach" then the fielder is still fielding the ball. If the fielder has to move more than that, he's chasing a ball and the onus is on him to avoid the runner.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1