The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 03, 2005, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Posts: 340
Jake80,
We were advised of the presence of Rule 2-5-1b when we covered Infield Fly rulings. If an Infield Fly lands beyond that imaginary line from 1st to 3rd and then rolls " foul ", it is ruled by definition a fair ball - for purposes of the infield fly, this is important. If defensive player does not catch the IF, and it rolls " foul ", batter is still out and ball is live. Runners may advance if the defense is not sharp enough to pick up on BU signal of fair/batter is out and immediately retrieve the ball. I don't know if that helps you or not.

On 2-29-3, I think we are looking at a timing play situation for purposes of the ruling. If a runner passes 2nd base ( and was forced there ) and he is tagged after he passes the bag, any run that scored on any part of that play - even if the runner is already past 2nd without touching it - the run does not score. Hope that helps.
__________________
Tony Smerk
OHSAA Certified
Class 1 Official
Sheffield Lake, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1