The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 30, 2005, 11:05pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by UMP25
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
1) It's a catch. Whether fair or foul depends on where the ball was when caught. I know some fields where you could catch a fair ball with one foot in dead ball territory. It would be rare, however.
Not under OBR it isn't. One must have both feet in LBT in order to make a legal catch. Some amateur levels may have ground rules that treat it differently, but under OBR, it's a no catch.
Exemption exists for dugout, where this is most likely to occur. 7.04c CMT "A fielder or catcher may reach or step into, or go into the dugout with one or both feet to make a catch, and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. Ball is in play." The point is not covered elsewhere in OBR. In 2005 BRD it says "rule as in NCAA", which would require both feet in LBT to make the catch, except if dugout is involved.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1