The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to jason181988 Send a message via Yahoo to jason181988
I saw an umpire call an out after a foul ball ricocheted off the back screen and the catcher caught it.

The toughest call an umpire has to make is not the half-swing; the toughest call is throwing a guy out of the game after you blew the hell out of the play.
-Johny Rice, umpire
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member

Game on a field with bases that were easily dislodged. Coach asks the umpire what his players needed to do if the base moved. The response "They better get on it." Coach, "What if it slides all the way to the fence?" Blue, "They better get on it." The sad thing is, the guy was serious.
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member

I had been officiating for about 5 years and was attending my son Varsity HS game.They were beating the first place team. Bott. of seventh. They had bases loaded with two outs. Ball is hit to F4 who is back peddling to make the catch in the air of a short fly ball. As F4 is about to catch the ball, he falls backwards, gloves the ball, hits the ground and drops the ball. BU rules that F4 had possession long enough for an out.

I very emphatically encouraged my son's team to get on the bus.
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to akalsey Send a message via Yahoo to akalsey
Popup right over the plate. Umpire pulls his mask off by the harness with his right hand. The catcher catches the ball and when the ump hammers the out, his mask swings up and smacks him in the teeth.
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member