The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 05, 2005, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
The play where the BR touches 1B and then "retreats" toward home but still has to be tagged is the only play can think of where the out at 1B is not exactly the same as a force at another base.

Maybe there are other examples. Actually, I wish I knew a couple more, so I could better explain to people why the out at 1B is technically not a force.

Obviously, the rules-makers had some reason for specifically excluding the out at 1B from the category of force play.

Of course, people who know better still routinely call it a force out, but that's only because there's no short term for "the BR is put out before reaching 1B."
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1