The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 01:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Strict OBR.

Batter hits a double. The offense calls time and wants to substitute a pinch-runner. The pinch-runner is a player who is already in the line-up, however. This is an illegal substitution. Unfortunately, this escapes the umpire's (and defense's) notice. The next batter singles driving in the run. THEN the defense notices the illegal substitution. They want the umpire to retract the run and to call the runner out.

What is the proper ruling?

NOTE: Yes, yes - I know! You're all great umpires and this could never happen to you. This is impossible because of the meticulous manner in which you maintain your lineup card. You would catch it immediately and the situation would never develop. Humor me ... assume it did happen despite you the meticulous manner in which you keep your lineup card. You screwed up and now you have to deal with it.

BY THE WAY: Would the FED ruling be any different?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1