The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 01:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Strict OBR.

Batter hits a double. The offense calls time and wants to substitute a pinch-runner. The pinch-runner is a player who is already in the line-up, however. This is an illegal substitution. Unfortunately, this escapes the umpire's (and defense's) notice. The next batter singles driving in the run. THEN the defense notices the illegal substitution. They want the umpire to retract the run and to call the runner out.

What is the proper ruling?

NOTE: Yes, yes - I know! You're all great umpires and this could never happen to you. This is impossible because of the meticulous manner in which you maintain your lineup card. You would catch it immediately and the situation would never develop. Humor me ... assume it did happen despite you the meticulous manner in which you keep your lineup card. You screwed up and now you have to deal with it.

BY THE WAY: Would the FED ruling be any different?

David Emerling
Memphis, TN
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Once you the next batter took a pitch it was too late to correct it. The run stands.

The real question (and one I won't answer yet, letting some of the newbies take a crack) is - what do you do now? Where is the pinch runner in the lineup now? Can the man who hit the double take his spot? What if there were only 9 players - is there a hole in the lineup now? Etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,159
J/R says (in this case) he play stands, the illegal sub is ejected, and the player originally in the slot is replaced.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
In "strict" OBR the illegal substitute is ejected from the game, and replaced with a legal substitute. The play stands. This is the professional practice; it is not codified in the rules or casebooks.

In answer to your question, yes the FED ruling would be different.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 06:05pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
From 2005 BRD, under OBR: "B1 sprains his ankle sliding into second. The coach, who earlier sent Bubba to play right field, now reports him as a pinch runner. The umpire does not catch the error. The next batter doubles scoring Bubba. Now the defensive coach wakes up and before a pitch appeals that Bubba was in illegal sub. Ruling: (REVISED) In FED and NCAA, Bubba is out and restricted (FED) or ejected (NCAA). His run is also cancelled and B1 loses an rbi. In OBR, he is not out, the run and rbi count, and Bubba is ejected."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1