The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 15, 2004, 05:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I was taught that a 'tag' is different depending on whether it's a force or tag play. For any play, fielder must have possession and voluntary release after tagging the runner. For a force play, the runner is out when the base is tagged, even if the fielder subsequently loses possession of the ball.

Technically, tagging 1B in advance of the runner is not a force play, but for purposes of this ruling you can treat it as one. In your situation if F3 has the ball securely the moment he steps on 1B, I've got BR out, run does not score, call it extra innings.

BTW, I agree with your non-call on interference/obstruction. F3 was not obstructing because he was making a play; BR did not interfere if the collision was not intentional.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1