The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2004, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 159
Rich:

From Jim Evans Rules of Baseball Annotated, otherwise known as JEA:

Bases loaded.. .two outs. The batter smashes a hot liner past the third baseman. The ball hits the third base umpire in the foot and deflects to the shortstop. The runner from third crosses the plate...but...the batter-runner is thrown out at first. Does the run count?
RULING: The ball is alive and in play. Since the third out is a force out...no run scores.


I agree, TECHNICALLY, he’s wrong, it’s not a “force out”. He is right in that the run does not count as the 3rd out came before the BR touched 1B.

Just posted to show that even the “big dogs” get a little sloppy in calling this a force out at 1B.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1