The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 17, 2004, 06:42pm
Gee Gee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 305
"SNIP"
"I remember from years back that there was a camp that held to the interpretation that since there was a force at the time of the missed base, it could not be removed subsequently by the out on BR. I believe there was some official ruling on this. Does anybody have anything official?"
------------------------------------------
That is what I was alluding to in my previous post. In the play we are discussing it is pretty obvious that R1 had passed second base and probably on third when the batter runner was retired at second.

That be the case, the B/R was tagged out for an off base out therefore it did not lift the force play that was in effect when R1 missed second and a proper appeal would reestablish the force and nullify the run.

The only way the force play could be lifted on R1 would be if the B/R was "FORCED" out at first, which of course he wasn't. Have to watch those runners. G.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1