The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2004, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
I'm really not trying to open a can of worms. This situation really did happen, and I'd like to know how to fix it in the future.

B1 hits a sinking line drive. F8 comes in and makes an apparent catch. BU calls B1 out. Offensive coach comes out of the dugout and tells PU that he is appealing the call. PU immediately rules "No catch" and puts B1 on 1B. Defensive coach did manage to convince the PU that that was not proper procedure. The offensive coach was then allowed to ask the BU if he needed help. BU now doubts his call and reverses his original call. Should the overrule have been put aside at that point? If so, should the original call have been left, or was it proper to allow the offensive coach to re-open with the BU? FWIW, I'm not concerned with the correctness of the judgment call as much as the proper mechanics. If proper mechanics had been followed, the same call would have been arrived at, as BU said to me later that he was somewhat screened on the play and not positive on his original call.

John
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1