![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
It's important to use the proper designations, whether they're in your or my vocabulary. FED (but the definitions are the same everywhere): "The pitcher shall pitch while facing the batter from either a windup position or a set position." (6-1-1) The set position is defined by the pitcher's feet: "Before starting his delivery, he shall stand with his entire non-pivot foot in front of a line...." (6-1-3) The pitcher can turn while he's in the set position. That's the change for this year. (He can't do it in the windup.) Now, in preparation for delivery from the set position, "natural preliminary motions such as only one stretch may be made." (6-1-3) Note: "May" be made: A pitcher need not stretch. He may simply bring his hands together in front of his body and stop. It must be a complete and discernible stop. ONCE HE STOPS, he may not turn his shoulders else it's a balk. That matches the rule in NCAA and OBR. I hope this diffuses some of the mud. BTW: My association has enforced the letter of the law about "shoulder turning" since the very first time it appeared, that being the Referee mention. Oh, sure, there wads an old Smitty or two who refused, but most coaches approved since they hoped to move up the play-off ladder where they knew such infractions would be enforced. Nobody likes to ignore a rule when evaluators are in the stands. |
Bookmarks |
|
|