The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 29, 2004, 12:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 406
Quote:
Quote:
Then he called a balk on a RH with R1 & R3. The RH stepped & faked to 3rd and then wheeled and threw to 1st. He told the pitcher he had to "disengage from the rubber in order to throw to first!"
He's correct here, at least under OBR. That said, I've never seen F1 make this move without disengaging during the feint to third.
He may not be correct under OBR, depending on how F1 moves. See Rule 8.05c comment following. As long as he steps toward 3B (foot comes down on ground), he can then turn and step toward and throw to 1B legally. The key is he must also make that step toward 1B and not just wheel (spin) and throw. He does NOT have to disengage. He does NOT have to disengage. This is gaining on the Baseball Myth list of all time favorites.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1