The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 11, 2001, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Why managers turn gray - the umpires can't decide how to apply the rules so our "no call" in one game gets us tossed in another game.

This is really confusing.

8.01 says there are two "legal" pitching positions, windup and set

8.05(j), the break hands and not pitch rule, says ". .after coming to a legal pitching position. ." As our pitcher had NOT yet come set he had not yet come to a legal pitching position so how could you apply 8.05(j)? If the "not come set" applies to 6.02(b) then shouldn't it apply here?

On top of that, 8.05(e) - (Quick Pitch) says it's a balk if the pitcher delivers while the batter is not reasonably set in the batters box. With the batter half out of the box, looking at his coach, he sure isn't "reasonably set" so F1 would seem to have no choice but to stop. Or did the batter preclude this by getting in the box then leaving? If so, what rule/interpretation applies?

But, there is also a requirement to come set in a continuous motion so is poor F1 now stuck with having to do the "come set in a continuous motion" thing then step off properly? Seems like a REALLY unreasonable expectation on the surface because everyone on offense has probably stopped to check the coach's signs.

ROCK - F1 - HARD PLACE
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1