The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 18, 2004, 05:01pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by DG

Only one fielder is protected by this rule. If it goes through one runner's legs then any other fielder is not relevant.
Not true. If another fielder has a play (that is, can get someone out -- not just "chasing after a loose ball), then the runner can interfere even if the ball went through the legs of a fielder right in front of the runner.

I don't get your drift. If the 3B and SS are in a line on a ground ball between 3rd and short, and the ball goes between the 3B legs and contacts the runner from 2B directly in front of the SS, there is no interference, unless the contact was intentional. If not intentional, then no interference. Only one player is protected, in this case 3B man. He made the error by not fielding cleanly. We are not going to penalize the offense.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1