The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 19, 2004, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,182
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
I don't get your drift. If the 3B and SS are in a line on a ground ball between 3rd and short, and the ball goes between the 3B legs and contacts the runner from 2B directly in front of the SS, there is no interference, unless the contact was intentional. If not intentional, then no interference. Only one player is protected, in this case 3B man. He made the error by not fielding cleanly. We are not going to penalize the offense.
Let's be sure we have the same play. R2. Grounder to the left side. The ball goes through F5's legs and hits R2 directly behnid F5. If not for the ball hitting R2, F6 would likely have fielded the ball and thrown BR out at first. Is that it?

If so, then, yes, we are going to penalize the offense for getting hit with the batted ball. See 7.09(m), especially the phrase "no other infielder had a chance to make a play on the ball."

The rule is that the runner is out when hit by a batted ball.

Exception: 1) The ball goes through (or immediately by) a fielder; 2) The ball is deflected.

Exception to exception 1: Another fielder could make a play.


Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 19, 2004, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 137
Send a message via AIM to wobster
The play was this -

R1, B2 0 outs.

B2 hits to F4 who lets it between his legs, bouncing off R1's foot before going to the outfield. No other fielder could have fielded ball.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 19, 2004, 10:46pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
I don't get your drift. If the 3B and SS are in a line on a ground ball between 3rd and short, and the ball goes between the 3B legs and contacts the runner from 2B directly in front of the SS, there is no interference, unless the contact was intentional. If not intentional, then no interference. Only one player is protected, in this case 3B man. He made the error by not fielding cleanly. We are not going to penalize the offense.
Let's be sure we have the same play. R2. Grounder to the left side. The ball goes through F5's legs and hits R2 directly behnid F5. If not for the ball hitting R2, F6 would likely have fielded the ball and thrown BR out at first. Is that it?

If so, then, yes, we are going to penalize the offense for getting hit with the batted ball. See 7.09(m), especially the phrase "no other infielder had a chance to make a play on the ball."

The rule is that the runner is out when hit by a batted ball.

Exception: 1) The ball goes through (or immediately by) a fielder; 2) The ball is deflected.

Exception to exception 1: Another fielder could make a play.


I have never seen this happen, but 7.09(m) seems clear on it. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 19, 2004, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to akalsey Send a message via Yahoo to akalsey
Hmm. That's two rules that cover the same thing with slightly different language. I hate that.

I knew I had seen the "no other infielder has a play on the ball part" but when I looked up the rule and saw 7.08(f) I thought I was just imagining that part of the rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1