Thread: LL Coaches
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 18, 2004, 04:33pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
Quote:
Originally posted by wobster
LL Coaches in my area are stupid, for the most part. I had a coach argue with me last night that a batted ball that passes through the legs of a fielder and hits his runner does not cause him to be out, since it had passed a fielder. He argued with me, even though the call was FOR his team. This is also the coach who told me that his player should get home for interfering with the fielder in the baseline (I mistakenly called obstruction, but no penalty since runners all reached one base past where they were).

Where do they find these people? This coach has been coaching town and traveling league for close to 20 years, and he doesn't know the rules?!? What the heck is that? Are these people mentally retarded or what?

Just needed to vent a little after a rough night last night. Do you guys have the same problems in your area?
First one, the runner is not out, unless another infielder has a play on the ball.

I am confused on the second part. So R2 interferes with F5 or F6, but you by mistake call obstruction. So why did you not correct yourself and call the interference?
Only one fielder is protected by this rule. If it goes through one runner's legs then any other fielder is not relevant.
Yes I know only one of them is protected. In the original post it did not say which one was interfered with, so I said either F5 or F6.
Doesn't matter, because neither was interfered with. If the ball goes between one fielder's legs, there is no interference if it then hits a runner. The part I was commenting on was "unless another infielder has a play on the ball".
Reply With Quote