The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 13, 2004, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
OK, If it makes you happy, the NFHS book does not use the word "DECEIVE".

NOW HEAR THIS!

NOW HEAR THIS!

RULE 6.1, 6.21 a-e & 6.4 & 6.5 lists "INFRACTIONS BY PITCHER", "Illegal acts" and acts that if done by the pitcher with a runner or runners on base, while he is touching the pitchers plate, is a balk.

First things first, I was not at the game so to make these calls without seen what actually happened, is really really tuff.

Situation 1. R1, I have to assume 2 things because of lack of info. a. Pitcher is in set position. b. Pitcher stepped back off the pitching plate while in the act of pitching.

Rule 6.5 says that "if a pitcher makes any movement naturally associated with his pitch", "while he is not touching the pitchers plate," it is a balk.

Situation2. Again, not having seen this one, if the pitcher lifted his pivot foot straight up without attempting to step behind the pitching plate immediately, then he is in violation of 6.1.3, "or he may lift his foot in a step backward off the pitchers plate". Balk. Lifting your foot in a step, and lifting it straight up first, are 2 different motions. And for our discussion ILLEGAL. And that IS in the Rule Book.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1