View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2004, 07:58pm
jicecone jicecone is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
"in situation 2, you cannot throw to an unoccupied base, unless you have stepped backward with your pivot foot. Had a kid, set position, runner at 2nd. Runner takes off as pitcher lifts non-pivot. Pitcher hears "runner is going". Steps correctly to third and throws toward 3B. BALK"

I believe you missed what the rest of that rule reads. This is federation rules and I know the other two, (NCAA & OBR) are pretty much the same. Rule 7.2.4 b. "it is a balk: b.failing to step with the non-pivot foor directly toward a base (occupied or unoccupied)when throwing or feinting there in an attempt to put out, or drive back a runner; or throwing or feinting to any unoccupied base when it is NOT an attempt to put out or drive back a runner."

Now where you can actually throw to directly from the pitchin plate may vary a little by code. So your statement is only partially correct.

Reply With Quote