|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
|   
			
			Here's the situation:  Runner in first with 2 outs.  The batter hits a ground ball between first and second and the ball hits the runner (before passing a fielder).  The runner is called out for the 3rd out. My question is what is scored for the batter? Is he given an at bat and it is scored like a fielders choice? Or does it not count as an at bat? Or something else? Also, would it be scored differently is it was not the 3rd out of the inning? | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			If that is the case, then it counts against the batter in their batting average.  In this particular case, if the ball did not hit the runner, it would have been a base hit. If it was not the third out, would the batter be given a hit? It does not seem right to penalize the batter for a mistake made by the runner. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			I believe that the batter is credited with a hit. The only time a batter doesn't get the hit is when a runner is hit by an Infield Fly Has anyone ever seen that????? [Edited by tornado on Apr 2nd, 2004 at 11:30 AM] | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			The batter gets credit for a base hit, even if it's the third out, unless, of course, the batter is the one who got hit. Scoring Rule 10.05(e) 
				__________________ Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread | 
| 
 |  |