![]() |
Here's the situation: Runner in first with 2 outs. The batter hits a ground ball between first and second and the ball hits the runner (before passing a fielder). The runner is called out for the 3rd out.
My question is what is scored for the batter? Is he given an at bat and it is scored like a fielders choice? Or does it not count as an at bat? Or something else? Also, would it be scored differently is it was not the 3rd out of the inning? |
After further discussion noted below, I edited this post. I should have stayed at home as scoring is not my specialty.
-Rick [Edited by rafking on Apr 2nd, 2004 at 12:04 PM] |
If that is the case, then it counts against the batter in their batting average. In this particular case, if the ball did not hit the runner, it would have been a base hit.
If it was not the third out, would the batter be given a hit? It does not seem right to penalize the batter for a mistake made by the runner. |
I believe that the batter is credited with a hit.
The only time a batter doesn't get the hit is when a runner is hit by an Infield Fly <less than 2 out R1 &2 or R1,2 &3> Has anyone ever seen that????? [Edited by tornado on Apr 2nd, 2004 at 11:30 AM] |
The batter gets credit for a base hit, even if it's the third out, unless, of course, the batter is the one who got hit.
Scoring Rule 10.05(e) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48am. |