![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
There has to be a process for dealing with such situations. In your circumstance in LL, using a "dad out of the stands", that is especially important but it is no less so in Over 30 Summer Ball. In my league we have a signal that tells one umpire that the other umpire has information that may help. It is arms folded across the chest. You needed such a signal, and a pre-game discussion with both partners about what to do when it is given in the incidents you mentioned. The principles that we described previously for dealing with an apparent misapplication of the rules do not strictly apply here. At the root of this call was a judgement decision. You couldn't be sure you actually had a rule misapplication until AFTER you intervened and found out precisely what your partner saw. That doesn't fit the circumstances described earlier for overturning a call on an obvious rule misapplication. Since there was a legitimate "doubt" that your partner may have applied a rule correctly, the appeal under OBR 9.02(b) was appropriate. Once the manager started that process by calling "Time" and coming onto the diamond, you should NOT have sought to interfere until invited to do so in accordance with OBR 9.02(c). Instead, you should have given your "I can help" signal and let your partner break off and come to you for advice. If he doesn't, that's his choice. If and when it becomes a protest situation THEN you can discuss it, whether he asks you first or not. Not before. Cheers, Warren Willson [Edited by Warren Willson on Dec 10th, 2000 at 06:01 PM]
__________________
Warren Willson |
Bookmarks |
|
|