The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2019, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 81
World Series game 6 Trea Turner interference

Hi, former NFHS umpire here, but I forgot all the rules. To me, the call of interference looked justified. I probably never would have caught that in a 2 man umpire crew that I used to work.

I would love to hear everyone's opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 30, 2019, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,120
I can't imagine a reasonably competent umpire who thinks it wasn't called correctly.

I think there can be reasonable discussion on whether the rule should be changed. Mos of the fans / commentators are arguing this point, even if they phrase it as the former.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 31, 2019, 01:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by verticalStripes View Post
Hi, former NFHS umpire here, but I forgot all the rules. To me, the call of interference looked justified. I probably never would have caught that in a 2 man umpire crew that I used to work.

I would love to hear everyone's opinion.
Right call, and you can get it no matter how many umpires.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 31, 2019, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 74
Never a popular call

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Right call, and you can get it no matter how many umpires.
I have not ejected people very often in 19 years of umpiring, but I remember very well the ones associated with RLI. Sometimes it was the initial call, sometimes it was sending the other runners back. Lots of misunderstanding with this rule.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 01, 2019, 12:32am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,666
Mark, Jr., was at watching the game in a sports bar with a date and very vociferously made the correct call in real time. Both his date and people around him thought that the PU had blown the call and many of them tried to tell he was crazy. Even his date questioned his judgement. She did not know that he umpired H.S. baseball and softball and college softball. When he started quoting chapter and verse everyone around him realized that they had picked the wrong person with whom to debate the play. That's my son, 😁!

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 01, 2019, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 554
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
I tried to analyze this from two different perspectives in an effort to reconcile the practical with the logical/theoretical. That said, here is what I thought about it:

Practical Perspective: The umpire made the call that we are trained to make based on the location of the runner. While there was discussion about it being a judgement call, the reality of the situation is that the rule regarding the running lane is effectively designed to eliminate the judgement aspect of the call or at least to provide a strong guide or out for umpires to make the call. From this perspective, absolutely the right call. It's the call I'd make in every time if I were in that situation because it is how we're trained and what is expected.

Logical Perspective: The other side of this is that with the benefit of replay (I know it isn't reviewable by rule), I felt the runner was definitely in his last stride toward the bag and the throw would have taken the fielder's glove into the runner regardless of where the runner had been short of sliding (which certainly isn't required). Essentially, my argument is that the call of interference in this situation was based on the position of the runner during the 43.5 feet prior to when he actually contacted the fielder's glove. I don't believe the runner's position at any time prior to that final stride (during which the runner is allowed to exit the running lane) obstructed, hindered, impeded or confused either the pitcher's throw or the first basemen's attempt to catch the throw.

All of that said, I realize my second point doesn't impact how we call games, but it is certainly another way of looking at it and how I'm thinking most people without training/experience viewed the play.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 02, 2019, 08:44am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,043
The “last step” exception allows the B/R to legally be outside the lane to touch first base. Otherwise, he’s required to stay in the lane.

We’ll never know if Turner’s action caused the throw to be slightly off-line. What we DO know is that he was out of the lane when he should have been in the lane.

Don’t put me in the position of having to make that call and we won’t have this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 21, 2019, 02:54pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sco53 View Post
I have not ejected people very often in 19 years of umpiring, but I remember very well the ones associated with RLI. Sometimes it was the initial call, sometimes it was sending the other runners back. Lots of misunderstanding with this rule.
My first ever ejection years and years ago was due to a very obvious RLI call.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 22, 2019, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Mark, Jr., was at watching the game in a sports bar with a date and very vociferously made the correct call in real time. Both his date and people around him thought that the PU had blown the call and many of them tried to tell he was crazy. Even his date questioned his judgement. She did not know that he umpired H.S. baseball and softball and college softball. When he started quoting chapter and verse everyone around him realized that they had picked the wrong person with whom to debate the play. That's my son, 😁!

MTD, Sr.
I was at a bar, came out of the restroom and saw the glove knocked off his hand and said "That's interference!" I didn't say it super loud, unlike a few weeks ago when I woke myself up in the middle of a balk call that I hoped wasn't as loud as I thought it was.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LL world series RKBUmp Softball 39 Mon Aug 19, 2013 02:40pm
World Series, Game 1 PSUchem Softball 9 Sat Jul 24, 2010 04:06pm
DP World Series Game 1 johnSandlin Baseball 19 Thu Oct 29, 2009 08:21pm
N.S.A World Series NEohioref Softball 58 Mon Aug 06, 2007 09:57pm
RBI WORLD SERIES whiskers_ump Softball 7 Sat Aug 09, 2003 04:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1