The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2019, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 55
Is this a Lose-Lose sit for the runner? (FED)

"With no one out and R1 on 1B, B1 hits a screaming line drive down the right-field line. R1 is approaching 2B when F9 makes a sensational catch and fires wildly to F3 in an attempt to double up R1. R1 has NOT touched 2B when F9's throw goes into dead-ball territory. The base Umpires yells, "Two-base award" and point to 3B. R1 starts for 3B and is standing on 2B when his coach yells, "Retouch first." R1 retreats to 1B and touches all bases in the proper order."

R1 is put out on appeal: 5-2-2b1, 8-2-5

However, had his coach not yelled for him to go back to 1B, and he would have went merrily on to 3B, couldn't he have been called out on appeal for not having tagged up?

Again... FED rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 05, 2019, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltydog View Post

However, had his coach not yelled for him to go back to 1B, and he would have went merrily on to 3B, couldn't he have been called out on appeal for not having tagged up?

Again... FED rules.
Yes, he's liable to be out on appeal either way. (And, in this specific play, he's also liable to be out on appeal under OBR and NCAA.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 05, 2019, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 55
At the risk of sounding like that 'the parent behind the fence'..'that's not fair'. Where's my hanky? sniff, sniff.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 06, 2019, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,161
Why is he out if he returns to first and stays there?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 06, 2019, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 914
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
Why is he out if he returns to first and stays there?
Because he didn't legally retouch it.

In FED, if the runner is past the next base when the ball goes out of play or reaches it after it goes out, he cannot retouch a preceding base (unless the defense intentionally put the ball out of play to prevent him from returning.)

In OBR and NCAA, if the runner reaches any base after the ball goes out of play, he cannot correct an error at a preceding base.

Thus, because he reached 2B after the ball went out of play, he cannot correct an infraction at 1B.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Defense causing runner to lose contact JefferMC Softball 3 Fri Jun 03, 2011 01:58pm
You have to lose to win NCASAUmp Softball 6 Mon Oct 11, 2010 07:03am
OT - NBE to lose $400,000,000 Mark Padgett Basketball 11 Tue Jun 08, 2010 05:22am
Lose, lose situation WinterWillie Basketball 4 Sat Jan 15, 2005 09:04pm
do they lose the baseline johnfox Basketball 3 Sun Dec 10, 2000 05:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1