The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 205
BOO Situation

This came up in our FED game a couple of days ago. B6 makes the final out of the third inning for the home team. I the fourth inning B8 leads off instead of B7. The defense completes a 1-2-3 inning on B8, B9, B1. B2 leads off the fifth inning and draws a walk. Could the visiting coach appeal at this point for B2 to be called out for batting out of order or has that opportunity already passed at this point.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 08:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,852
Once a pitch was thrown on B9, B8's at bat was "legitimized." B9 is the proper batter and it's too late now for the defense to (properly) appeal. B7 is just skipped.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 08:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 205
Thanks for the quick reply. If the appeal had been made before the first pitch to B9 would B7 have been called out as well as the out on B8 standing?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2018, 08:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 605
Similar thing happened yesterday, Reds vs Mets.

B1 strikes out. B3 strikes out. Once the next pitch is made, B3's AB is legitimized. B2 should be skipped and B4 should be at the plate. Instead, B2 doubles. BOO appealed. B4 is out. Second inning starts with B5 correctly at the plate.

Last edited by Altor; Thu May 10, 2018 at 08:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2018, 06:22am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
Thanks for the quick reply. If the appeal had been made before the first pitch to B9 would B7 have been called out as well as the out on B8 standing?
No. B7 (the proper batter) would be out and B8 would return to bat.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 13, 2018, 07:43pm
Coach Paul
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
No. B7 (the proper batter) would be out and B8 would return to bat.
Precisely.
__________________
Coach Paul
www.cmbua.org
Board Certified Umpire /
Baseball Instructor / Coach
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2018, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,175
Just for clarity to a softball umpire.

B4 is due to bat. B6 bats and is out. B7 bats and is out.

B8 appears at plate and DC appeals BOO on B4.
There is no out for BOO in that situation, I assume.

Is it any different in Little League, specifically Juniors?
Thanks.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2018, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 455
Well, the defensive coach is way too late to appeal BOO against B4. The pitch to B7 legalized B6, and since no one noticed B4's absence until a pitch was issued to the batter following B4's "replacement", the defense can do nothing. This is just a no can do.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2018, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,852
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Just for clarity to a softball umpire.

B4 is due to bat. B6 bats and is out. B7 bats and is out.

B8 appears at plate and DC appeals BOO on B4.
There is no out for BOO in that situation, I assume.

Is it any different in Little League, specifically Juniors?
Thanks.
It's the "Goldilocks Principle" of BOO (one of two principles that allow even a raw umpire to get the rulings right).

The defense can appeal:
  • Too Early (While B6 is still at bat) -- the correct batter (B4) takes the place of the incorrect batter and assumes the count.
  • Too Late (After a pitch to B7) -- B6 now becomes the correct previous batter and whoever is next in the lineup bats
  • Just Right (After B6 ends his at bat and before a subsequent pitch) -- B4 is out and B5 bats.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 11, 2018, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It's the "Goldilocks Principle" of BOO (one of two principles that allow even a raw umpire to get the rulings right).

The defense can appeal:
  • Too Early (While B6 is still at bat) -- the correct batter (B4) takes the place of the incorrect batter and assumes the count.
  • Too Late (After a pitch to B7) -- B6 now becomes the correct previous batter and whoever is next in the lineup bats
  • Just Right (After B6 ends his at bat and before a subsequent pitch) -- B4 is out and B5 bats.
As I thought, same as softball (for me, I know you don't have that)
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 13, 2018, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post

Is it any different in Little League,
.
No. Not in any LL division.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 20, 2018, 06:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
I know it is dangerous to make "always" statements, but there are a few that that actually help with BOO.
  • The proper batter is always the player that follows the last batter to properly complete his turn at bat (with the caveat that the initial batter for each team doesn't have anyone to follow).
  • The previous batter is always considered to have properly completed his time at bat when a pitch is thrown to the following batter. Once such a "legitimizing" pitch is thrown, the current batter is subject to the previous bullet point.
  • The player that should have been the proper batter is always the player that is called out when BOO is discovered.
  • When BOO is discovered and the player that should have been at bat is called out, the next batter is always the player that follows the player that was just called out.

From there, there are a number of oddities that can occur. A player's turn in the order can be skipped without penalty or a player can come to the plate twice in a row.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What if situation chapmaja Softball 6 Fri Apr 18, 2014 06:19pm
situation deecee Basketball 7 Sun Dec 21, 2008 02:49pm
Bad situation. tribefan1952 Softball 17 Sun Apr 22, 2007 06:44pm
IW Situation CruiseMan Football 5 Sun Oct 03, 2004 11:41pm
FT Situation williebfree Basketball 4 Wed Jan 29, 2003 07:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1