| 
				
				Wind-up restrictions
			 
 
			
			MLB rules. Today, had a pitcher that took 2 "rocker steps" to the side in the windup prior to stepping toward home.  Hoping to be preventative, I told the catcher on the 2nd pitch of the game that he should tell the pitcher that if he does that with runners on base it will be a balk.  Catcher said "he knows, obviously".  
 Sure enough with bases loaded, he takes 2 rocker steps and I balk it.  Catcher thought I was talking about when the pitcher is in the set position when I mentioned it earlier.
 
 My question is: did I correctly not call anything with nobody on base?  Should this have been an illegal pitch and a ball?
 |