The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 90
Missed on Test

I missed one question on my state exam, but I believe i am correct.

The count is 2-2 and B1 is trying to get out of the way of an inside fastball. As he tries to avoid the pitch, the ball hits his hands on the bat and the ball rolls toward the pitcher in fair territory. The correct call is:
A. Fair ball; the ball remains in play.
B. Foul ball; the batter remains at bat with a 2-2 count.
C. Hit by pitch; send the batter to first base.
D. Dead ball; the batter is charged with a strike, and since the count was 2-2, he is out.

I put A, and it was wrong, but it doesn't tell me the correct answer. i have always believed that hands are part of the bat... i absolutely would not call this a foul ball or a hit by pitch. And i hope it shouldnt be a dead ball because if so, I need to offer some apologies to a lot of teams! ha

This is not an attempt to get help with the test, I have posted multiple times on this forum and replied as well, so i hope i dont get trolled with "we arent doing your homework for you".
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 96
It's a foul ball. 5-1-1 and 8-1-1 will help you with this. Is it an online test? The online test usually gives you the rules reference of the ones that you missed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmie24 View Post
It's a foul ball. 5-1-1 and 8-1-1 will help you with this. Is it an online test? The online test usually gives you the rules reference of the ones that you missed.
Whoa, whoa, whoa there.....before we make such a declaration, think about what he said. He said it hit his HANDS. A foul ball is a batted ball that is in foul territory or becomes dead in it (simplified definition). Is that what we have here?

To the OP....consider the definition and requirements of a bat. Do you see any specifications of the hands there? The hands are part of the arm, not the bat.

The answer - if you say it hit his hands first - is C. Everything after the hitting of the hands is irrelevant - getting hit by pitch is ALWAYS an immediate dead ball. You may not send him to first if you think he actively permitted the ball to hit him - but that's a different question.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
O.

M.

G.

1) Any prospective umpire who thinks the hands are part of the bat should be disqualified from taking the rest of the test.

2) Foul ball? That's worse.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 90
Answer GIven

Apologies for my ignorance. Apparently it is a common misconception that the hands are part of the bat, when in fact they are not. This OP would be to award the hitter 1B just as if it had struck any other part of his body. On the flip side, if the batter had swung at the pitch, and the ball had struck his hands, the call would be a STRIKE and not a foul, just as if the ball had struck any other part of his body during a legal swing.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
Apologies for my ignorance. Apparently it is a common misconception that the hands are part of the bat, when in fact they are not. This OP would be to award the hitter 1B just as if it had struck any other part of his body. On the flip side, if the batter had swung at the pitch, and the ball had struck his hands, the call would be a STRIKE and not a foul, just as if the ball had struck any other part of his body during a legal swing.
Correct.

And, one of the goals of these tests is to learn something, so you accomplished that.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
I missed one question on my state exam, but I believe i am correct.

The count is 2-2 and B1 is trying to get out of the way of an inside fastball. As he tries to avoid the pitch, the ball hits his hands on the bat and the ball rolls toward the pitcher in fair territory. The correct call is:
A. Fair ball; the ball remains in play.
B. Foul ball; the batter remains at bat with a 2-2 count.
C. Hit by pitch; send the batter to first base.
D. Dead ball; the batter is charged with a strike, and since the count was 2-2, he is out.

I put A, and it was wrong, but it doesn't tell me the correct answer. i have always believed that hands are part of the bat... i absolutely would not call this a foul ball or a hit by pitch. And i hope it shouldnt be a dead ball because if so, I need to offer some apologies to a lot of teams! ha

This is not an attempt to get help with the test, I have posted multiple times on this forum and replied as well, so i hope i dont get trolled with "we arent doing your homework for you".
If he did not swing, or if his hands were not in the strike zone the answer is C.
If he did the answer is D
http://www.nwumpires.com/home/index....all-rule-myths
See #1 in the above link.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT 73 View Post
If he did not swing, or if his hands were not in the strike zone the answer is C.
If he did the answer is D
Top 40 baseball rule myths
See #1 in the above link.
The question said it was inside and the batter was trying to avoid it. The answer is C.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
The question said it was inside and the batter was trying to avoid it. The answer is C.
Yes, I know that.
Since the OP found the question confusing I decided to give him some additional
information for future reference.
Who knows, perhaps next year the answer will be D?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed Test Question bbsbvb83 Volleyball 2 Sun Aug 23, 2015 04:00pm
10 second count-Louisiana Test Question I Missed Popey Basketball 2 Mon Nov 24, 2014 04:59pm
Missed these two questions on test, what is right answer? zachary23 Softball 18 Fri Jun 15, 2012 02:42pm
One of Our Own Will be Missed Here SAump Baseball 2 Mon Apr 23, 2012 04:28pm
Missed NFHS Test Question umpduck11 Baseball 90 Mon Feb 18, 2008 07:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1