Thread: Missed on Test
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 09:13am
MT 73 MT 73 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
I missed one question on my state exam, but I believe i am correct.

The count is 2-2 and B1 is trying to get out of the way of an inside fastball. As he tries to avoid the pitch, the ball hits his hands on the bat and the ball rolls toward the pitcher in fair territory. The correct call is:
A. Fair ball; the ball remains in play.
B. Foul ball; the batter remains at bat with a 2-2 count.
C. Hit by pitch; send the batter to first base.
D. Dead ball; the batter is charged with a strike, and since the count was 2-2, he is out.

I put A, and it was wrong, but it doesn't tell me the correct answer. i have always believed that hands are part of the bat... i absolutely would not call this a foul ball or a hit by pitch. And i hope it shouldnt be a dead ball because if so, I need to offer some apologies to a lot of teams! ha

This is not an attempt to get help with the test, I have posted multiple times on this forum and replied as well, so i hope i dont get trolled with "we arent doing your homework for you".
If he did not swing, or if his hands were not in the strike zone the answer is C.
If he did the answer is D
http://www.nwumpires.com/home/index....all-rule-myths
See #1 in the above link.
Reply With Quote