The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 83
Batter missed base on late throw to first

B1 grounds to F5. F5 throws "late" to F3 who is touching first base with his foot. B1 "beats" the throw to first. He overruns first base but fails to touch the bag. Is B1 out at this point (simple force), or does F3 need to take any additional action to "appeal" the missed base?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
B1 grounds to F5. F5 throws "late" to F3 who is touching first base with his foot. B1 "beats" the throw to first. He overruns first base but fails to touch the bag. Is B1 out at this point (simple force), or does F3 need to take any additional action to "appeal" the missed base?
A missed base requires an appeal. ANY missed base.

And it isn't a force. Only runners that were on base already can be forced. it just sorta looks like one.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 83
Since the "play" was already made on the bag, should F3 just tell the umpire "He missed the bag!"? Or does he need to make another "play"?

Also if there were two outs, and a runner on third should score, is the appeal a "timed" play?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 2,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
Since the "play" was already made on the bag, should F3 just tell the umpire "He missed the bag!"? Or does he need to make another "play"?

Also if there were two outs, and a runner on third should score, is the appeal a "timed" play?
He can claim the missed base and touch it, or tag the runner. It has to happen before the runner returns to the base. Otherwise the miss was corrected.

If the appeal is upheld the run would not score as the batter-runner was therefore out before touching first base.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protected batter-runner returning to first base on base on balls jodibuck Softball 9 Wed Apr 15, 2015 10:35pm
Batter swinging at a pitch late Backjudge79 Baseball 8 Thu May 16, 2013 12:47pm
Missed Base or Nothing? mrm21711 Baseball 1 Sun May 01, 2005 09:56pm
FED - Missed base PeteBooth Baseball 2 Tue Oct 01, 2002 03:33pm
Missed base Robert G Baseball 4 Mon Aug 20, 2001 12:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1