The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2017, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 31
ncaa ruling please

being ignorant of ncaa baseball rules could someone please tell me the penalty, if any, for a runner rounding third and incidently making contact with the third base coach? thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2017, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwally View Post
being ignorant of ncaa baseball rules could someone please tell me the penalty, if any, for a runner rounding third and incidently making contact with the third base coach? thank you

Same as in other codes -- it's nothing. All assuming that you really mean incidentally -- the coach did not contact the runner (instead the runner contacted the coach), and the coach did not put himself in the runner's path (rather, the runner tripped / slid / deviated from his path and happened to contact the coach who was out of the way until the trip, etc.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2017, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 31
thank you Bob...one more question...if the coach physically assists the runner and the runner is called out, is the ball still live or is the play ruled dead?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2017, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwally View Post
thank you Bob...one more question...if the coach physically assists the runner and the runner is called out, is the ball still live or is the play ruled dead?
Leave the ball live for the other runners
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 04, 2017, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 31
Thank you Bob...much appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2017, 12:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwally View Post
thank you Bob...one more question...if the coach physically assists the runner and the runner is called out, is the ball still live or is the play ruled dead?
Strangely, NCAA does not call the runner out until the end of playing action.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2017, 03:24pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
Strangely, NCAA does not call the runner out until the end of playing action.
Neither did NFHS until this year which I find rather strange.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2017, 11:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Neither did NFHS until this year which I find rather strange.
I think they clarified to call the runner out immediately this year but never had it in the rule to call the runner out after all playing action is ended. I've always assumed to call, other than in NCAA, "that's assistance, he's out" when the assist took place. NCAA would allow the assisted runner to continue, given that the umpire might point and say something about what just happened and if the runner kept going any play on him would be OK, even if plays could have been made elsewhere.

Was there FED guidance to not call the assisted runner out until the end of playing action and you find it strange that they reversed that guidance. Or do you find it strange that with a delayed dead ball the runner is called out immediately but the ball is kept live for outs but not advances in FED?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2017, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
I think they clarified to call the runner out immediately this year but never had it in the rule to call the runner out after all playing action is ended. I've always assumed to call, other than in NCAA, "that's assistance, he's out" when the assist took place. NCAA would allow the assisted runner to continue, given that the umpire might point and say something about what just happened and if the runner kept going any play on him would be OK, even if plays could have been made elsewhere.

Was there FED guidance to not call the assisted runner out until the end of playing action and you find it strange that they reversed that guidance. Or do you find it strange that with a delayed dead ball the runner is called out immediately but the ball is kept live for outs but not advances in FED?
UPDATE: Thanks to recent NFHS 2017 Interps and my belated perusal of the 2017 casebook, coach assist will be called immediately (I never thought differently) and all outs and advances will stand. The 2017 rulebook has some remaining verbiage that would not support the Interp but the Interp and casebook will rule in this instance.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 12, 2017, 03:27pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
OK, how would you adjudicate this NCAA scenario: The runner is assisted by the 3rd base coach on his way to the plate, and is tagged at the plate. Would you call time at that point and call the runner out for the assistance violation? Would you call safe or out on the play and allow play to continue for other runners? I could see myself calling the runner safe at the plate, the catcher then throwing the ball to another base to try to retire another runner, and the coach bolting out of the dugout to argue the call at the plate.

JJ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Reception ruling Rich 6 Football 3 Mon Jan 02, 2006 05:09pm
NCAA Ruling Jay R Basketball 6 Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:42am
NCAA ruling? tpaul Football 4 Sun Nov 27, 2005 08:28pm
NCAA DH ruling JJ Baseball 3 Mon Jul 04, 2005 08:41am
NCAA ruling TriggerMN Basketball 5 Thu Nov 20, 2003 06:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1