![]() |
|
|
|||
Part 2 test questions
From our state Part 2 test:
Quote:
Then 9-2-8 outlines the penalty: "The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player". That would mean it is a violation by the throwing team, right? So which is it? I got it wrong on the test. The other one, and I really have a problem with how it is worded.... Quote:
I answered that False, because the rule plainly says that it must be recognized no later than during the first dead ball, not that it has to be recognized DURING that first dead ball. The question is implying that you can't recognized and correct it while the ball is live before the first dead ball. What am I missing here? These were the only two I got wrong. |
|
|||
Choose the rule that specifically and directly speaks to the scenario. Which is it? Well, doesn't the fact that you got the question wrong tell you which it is?
![]() On the correctable error, we do not know until the ball is dead whether or not an official recognized an error. He's not going to talk about it during a live ball. ![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Dec 12, 2011 at 01:03am. |
|
|||
Questions worded like this...
...drive me crazy, but I guess they're designed to get your full focus and attention.
"It is an alternating-possession throw-in when A1’s throw-in lodges between the backboard and the ring. 9-2-8 says "no". The second question, in my opinion, is just plain unclear. Maybe if enough people appeal it, your governing body will act on it. Good luck. |
|
|||
Agreed that the specific overrides the general on the throw-in play, although I'd suggest a parenthetical be added to 6-4-3d along the lines of (except a throw-in; see 9-2-8) after the words "live ball." (This also makes me wish the books were large enough to make a note in the margin, or else available in an e-book format that allowed it.)
On the correctable-error question, I never had a professor who would score that type as anything but False... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Dec 12, 2011 at 09:19am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Not trying to just argue, but how do we know what would happen if the ball had not lodged between the backboard and ring?
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Part II Test questions | stripes | Basketball | 9 | Sat Dec 06, 2008 01:59am |
Some questions from the Part II test. | Illini_Ref | Football | 11 | Thu Aug 31, 2006 04:03pm |
Test questions, part 3 | ChuckElias | Basketball | 16 | Wed Sep 07, 2005 01:48am |
Test questions, part 1 | ChuckElias | Basketball | 12 | Fri Sep 02, 2005 05:37am |
Test questions, part 4 | ChuckElias | Basketball | 18 | Thu Sep 01, 2005 05:40pm |