From our state Part 2 test:
Quote:
It is an alternating-possession throw-in when A1’s throw-in lodges between the backboard and the ring.
|
I answered True. 6-4-3d says: "An AP throw-in shall result when: d) A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows". A thrown ball on a throw-in is a live ball, so a live thrown ball lodges between the backboard and ring and an AP throw-in results....right?
Then 9-2-8 outlines the penalty: "The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player". That would mean it is a violation by the throwing team, right? So which is it? I got it wrong on the test.
The other one, and I really have a problem with how it is worded....
Quote:
To correct an error it must be recognized by an official during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.
|
This says "...it must be recognized by an official DURING the first dead ball after the clock has properly started". 2-10-2 is worded "In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official NO LATER THAN DURING the first dead ball after the clock has properly started".
I answered that False, because the rule plainly says that it must be recognized no later than during the first dead ball, not that it has to be recognized DURING that first dead ball. The question is implying that you can't recognized and correct it while the ball is live before the first dead ball.
What am I missing here? These were the only two I got wrong.