The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 24, 2002, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Arrow

Looks like I have never understood this rule correctly.

Thumbing through the casebook and came upon 4.4.1 page 23.

Are rules 4.4.1 and 4.4.6 in contradiction? 4.4.1 and the casebook say that if a player receives a pass while straddling the division line and pivots such that he lifts the foot touching the backcourt (I'm immediately thinking 3 points of contact to establish frontcourt - which is wrong!) HE IS IMMEDIATELY IN THE FRONTCOURT. If after he lifts that non-pivot foot (and never touches the frontcourt with it) but sets it back down in the same spot, he has committed a backcourt violation.

4.4.6 addresses DRIBBLING and that frontcourt FOR THE DRIBBLER is only established after "the ball and both feet" touch entirely in the frontcourt.

Not sure how many times I've incorrectly waved that one off and said "No. He has not established himself in the frontcourt yet."

I can see the reason for 4.4.1 - it is similar to how we call inbounds/out-of-bounds but it also seems contradictory to the establishment of frontcourt as defined in 4.4.6.

Any comments?
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1