The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 04, 2009, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
ASA lookback violation?

New to ASA, three years rec softball experience. Had this the other day. It's probably a simple call for the veterans.

No outs, R1 on 3B, BR walks. F1 comes halfway home (out of the circle) when F2 challenges R1 who is off the base. BR rounds 1B, then stops to distract F2.

I have BR out for stopping between the bases after touching 1B after a walk. Was this right, even if F1 is out of the circle?

I'm doing everything I can to improve my skills, and have learned quite a bit from this forum. TIA.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 04, 2009, 08:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Sorry, not correct.

The LBR is in effect when all of the conditions are met; 1) ball in control of F1 who is 2) in the circle (both feet within or touching the line) and 3) isn't attempting or feinting a play while 4) the BR, if any, has reached first base. Since one of the conditions was not met, the LBR could not be violated.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 04, 2009, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
In addition, if F1 met all the above condition the runner still has the right to round the base (going as far as she wants), stop, find the ball, and then either return to first or continue on to second. Both without stopping unless the pitcher attempts or feints a play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 04, 2009, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcblue View Post
In addition, if F1 met all the above condition the runner still has the right to round the base (going as far as she wants), stop, find the ball, and then either return to first or continue on to second. Both without stopping unless the pitcher attempts or feints a play.
You are essentially correct. The "find the ball" part of it better not take longer than about a second. If she stops (for any reason), she needs to either retreat or advance immediately.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 06:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Got it now

Thanks for the correction. There's no better teacher than experience.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 06, 2009, 12:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Aimpink...I am curious...Why didn't you read the look back rule in the ASA Rules Book?

Joe In Missouri
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lookback SRW Softball 18 Thu Oct 25, 2007 01:56am
Lookback rule David Emerling Softball 29 Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:19am
What's going on with lookback? Dakota Softball 14 Sun May 23, 2004 05:55am
Lookback, Lookback and Lookback.. Again sprivitor Softball 8 Wed Jun 25, 2003 02:55pm
Lookback question DanIn Softball 2 Sat Jun 14, 2003 07:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1