The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 162
Lineup Question

I was thinking about this the other day while I was reading the rule book before a game regarding batting out of order. This is all in theroy and would probably never work but if everthing did work out, is it the correct procedure?

Lead off batter is 3-3 in the game with 3 linedrives all over the field.

Bottom of the 7th, no outs, runner on first. Game tied 3-3

Team a is suppose to have b7 up, but with the coach knowing about b1 crushing the ball in the game, he sends up b9 and no one notices until the girl gets a single. As she gets a single someone finally notices the error and notifies the umpire. Now b9 is out (1 out) and r1 returns to first but since she batted out of order b7 and b8 lost their turn to bat and now b1 would be up. b1 comes up to bat with 1 out, first pitch the girl steals and is now on 2nd, 2nd pitch line drive to the right field fence , ball game is over when the runner on 2nd scores.

Is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Nope, not correct. B7 would be out on appeal. B8 would be up to bat now. The batter that failed to bat is the one ruled out. Better reread the rulebook. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
Well, coaches will try the darndest things, won't they?
Dave is right, B7 out, B8 is now up.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 162
Ok sorry was thinking about a different play, what was meant to be said was that NO ONE detects the error in the batting order, now b1 would be up, is that correct?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The 503
Posts: 785
In this case, B9's AB is legalized with a pitch to B1 and B1 is now the proper batter (because B1 is the batter who follows B9 in the batting order). Now you have it right.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by SethPDX View Post
In this case, B9's AB is legalized with a pitch to B1 and B1 is now the proper batter (because B1 is the batter who follows B9 in the batting order). Now you have it right.
Alternatively, B1's about is legalized with a pitch to B8. So in your scenario if they send B8 up to bat and B8 takes a pitch then B1 can legally come up to bat.
________
LIVE SEX

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 10:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 131
I had one were we discovered B7 & 8 being skipped and B9 batting and I still correctly made B1 bat next.

The offending team discovered the error between innings, making B9's at bat legal, so B1 is up. He was so pissed, B7 & 8 had not batted all game and did not get a chance to.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 21, 2008, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by SethPDX View Post
In this case, B9's AB is legalized with a pitch to B1 and B1 is now the proper batter (because B1 is the batter who follows B9 in the batting order). Now you have it right.
I must've missed where the OP stated that there was a pitch delivered to B1 before the defense appealed.

B9 batted out of order. B8 should have been up. However, if B1 stepped up in place of B8, you now have a second instance of BOO, appealable by the defense.

Never should have happened, though.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 22, 2008, 07:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post

B9 batted out of order. B8 should have been up. However, if B1 stepped up in place of B8, you now have a second instance of BOO, appealable by the defense.
No. If B9 completed their turn at bat in the correct order or not, and it was not appealed, B1 IS the proper batter and there is nothing to appeal. It is not possible to have more than one BOO at a time.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 23, 2008, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern Ont.
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial View Post
I was thinking about this the other day while I was reading the rule book before a game regarding batting out of order. This is all in theroy and would probably never work but if everthing did work out, is it the correct procedure?

Lead off batter is 3-3 in the game with 3 linedrives all over the field.

Bottom of the 7th, no outs, runner on first. Game tied 3-3

Team a is suppose to have b7 up, but with the coach knowing about b1 crushing the ball in the game, he sends up b9 and no one notices until the girl gets a single. As she gets a single someone finally notices the error and notifies the umpire. Now b9 is out (1 out) and r1 returns to first but since she batted out of order b7 and b8 lost their turn to bat and now b1 would be up. b1 comes up to bat with 1 out, first pitch the girl steals and is now on 2nd, 2nd pitch line drive to the right field fence , ball game is over when the runner on 2nd scores.

Is this correct?
B9 is not the one who is out, B7 is the one who would be called out in this sit. R1 returns to 1st & B8 would be the correct batter. At this point no pitch has been thrown to B! to legalize B9 at bat. If a pitch is thrown to B1 prior to apeal then B9 at bat would be legal. Or am I out to lunch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Requesting a Lineup? RCBSports Basketball 9 Sat Jan 26, 2008 12:28pm
Illegal Lineup? gymwhite Volleyball 11 Tue Oct 16, 2007 04:41pm
LineUp Situation BearBoy Volleyball 5 Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:25am
Lineup with a DH tarheelcoach Baseball 17 Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:45am
lineup card question Little Jimmy Softball 7 Sat Oct 18, 2003 01:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1